Specialized S-Works Tarmac SL4 Build

hobbot
hobbot Posts: 37
edited May 2014 in Your road bikes
Here is few pictures of my off-season road bike project. As of today I have ridden the bike a good deal and am very happy with it, it is way lighter than my other bikes and has that "jumpy" feeling to it.

The build was not that complicated, but I had to be careful with keeping the cable sheaths in place to make cable routing easy.

More details and pictures can be found here

Specialized-S-Works-Tarmac2.jpg
Specialized-S-Works-Tarmac-fizik2.jpg
Specialized-S-Works-Tarmac-sram_crank3.jpg

Comments

• Nice one.

Being a newbie I have never seen front brakes behind the forks.

Why?
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    Very tasty.
  • zx6man
    zx6man Posts: 1,092
    Nice one.

Why?

Seen it before myself on a TT bike.

http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/news/lat ... graal.html
  • upperoilcan
    upperoilcan Posts: 1,180
    That my friend is lovely !! Good work.
    Cervelo S5 Ultegra Di2.
  • edhornby
    edhornby Posts: 1,780
    you mention it has that 'jumpy feel' to it... the fork is on backwards. brake should be at the front (do a google image search for tarmac sl4 and you'll see what I mean)

easy to resolve, just unclamp the stem and spin it round and tighten the bolts back up
    "I get paid to make other people suffer on my wheel, how good is that"
    --Jens Voight
  • zx6man
    zx6man Posts: 1,092
  • andytee87
    andytee87 Posts: 406
    zx6man wrote:

Bike looks great! Just a question, most of the sl4 builds I've seen have the front brake at the front, did you rear mount because you could, or was there another reason? I like it btw
  • mattv
    mattv Posts: 992
    That's an interesting brake arrangement. Although it is designed to function behind the fork, it may still be the cause of the judder.
    Great looking bike by the way! That colour looks much better than in the brochure.
  • DiscoBoy
    DiscoBoy Posts: 905