Just bought a used Full Suss

Donie75
Donie75 Posts: 92
edited January 2014 in MTB general
Hi,
I'm a regular road biker but I'm just getting into mtb. I bought a Cube Acid hardtail last year but the fork was very basic and I decided to flog it on. It was also too small for me.
I was offered a Kona Hei Hei Scandium framed full suspension bike at a great price so I jumped at it. It is a 2009 model and was built up by a guy who raced it. Pits fitted with Fox Vanilla R125 forks and a Fox Float RP2 rear shock. The kit is a mixture of Deore, SLX and XT. The brakes are fairly basic Shimano ones. The bike was well maintained and shock and fork were serviced around 12 months ago. The bearings and bushings on the frame were all done recently too.
Is there anything I need to do before it hit the trails? I got the seller to pump up the rear shock to 200psi because I'm a big lad. Is there any issue with a 120kg lad riding this rig?
Any advice appreciated... Thanks.

Comments

• CitizenLee
    CitizenLee Posts: 2,227
    Sounds decent :)

I'd take a shock pump out on the maiden voyage as you may need to play around with the pressure a little.

This might be a helpful read/watch:

http://www.pinkbike.com/news/technical- ... -2010.html
    Current:
    NukeProof Mega FR 2012
    Cube NuRoad 2018
    Previous:
    2015 Genesis CdF 10, 2014 Cube Hyde Race, 2012 NS Traffic, 2007 Specialized SX Trail, 2005 Specialized Demo 8
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Get a shock pump as CL said and set it up properly.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Take it a bit easy, Scandium frames are a bit fragile for a big lad. Very light though.
  • dusk
    dusk Posts: 583
    however well maintained it looks or the previous owner said it was, i'd still check everything is tight
    YT Wicked 160 ltd
    Cotic BFe
    DMR Trailstar
    Canyon Roadlite
  • DCR00