Top end aluminium bike or lower end carbon

13»

Comments

• Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    Sarto is a good fab. Quite like my Sarto frame...
    English Cycles V3 | Cervelo P5 | Cervelo T4 | Trek Domane Koppenberg
  • Coach H
    Coach H Posts: 1,092
    Carbonator wrote:
    DKay wrote:
    Littleleg5 wrote:
    I would not say that I am completely new to the riding scene as in my younger days I used to own a graham Tomlinson hand built bike with dura ace group set, and my old cycle club used to do 80-100 mile rides on a sunday.

so the type of bike im after is one which I can do the 80 - 100 mile a day touch (eventually) but I have also been told that I have an aggressive riding stance, which I presume is a race position rather than a more up right postion.

Sounds to me that the Cayo would suit you down to the ground in that case. The proof as always though, is in the riding. But I don't think the 2013 models hang around for long at the discounted prices as the 2014 frame is identical, with only minor componentry changes.

BOOM Cayo wins :lol:

You might find the Focus comes up a little smaller than say a Cannondale (not that I am encouraging you to get a big frame) which might be worth bearing in mind if you did want to try one and they only had certain sizes left.

Do you know what Carbonator and DKay, it seems you might be right. But only with the further info from the OP, seems they are not NEW to this at all but have some experience, knowledge and reasoned expectations.

With this extra info and taking the aggressive riding stance at face value a Cayo or CAAD might be a pretty good option
    Coach H. (Dont ask me for training advice - 'It's not about the bike')
  • Coach H
    Grill wrote: