Basic training

Minty123
Minty123 Posts: 2
edited January 2014 in Road beginners
Hi there.
So this year I have decided to take up road riding! I'm very new to this and was hoping to get some help from some people on here. I'm trying to work out a basic training and diet program! Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,
Chris

Comments

• diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    I would move this to the Training and Fitness section you will probably get more replies and more information about yourself,your goals and bike would help. :)
  • Ride as much as you can. Eat sensibly.

Ride harder. Ride more. Rest. Repeat.
  • MichaelW
    MichaelW Posts: 2,164
    It depends on your current fitness. Are you an athlete converting to cycling or a civilian converting from the sofa?
    If the later, just ride easily for a few weeks, measuring time rather than distance or speed. Start at 10 mins then increase every day up to about 40 mins. This is the min duration for a fitness ride and the start point for any training "regime"
  • 1. Take bike in hands
    2. Swing leg over bike
    3. Pedal
  • Ride more, ride fast, eat less. Enjoy
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Yep - I'd not overthink it. Eat sensibly and ride as often as you can and aim to increase your distances.
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    Just take it easy to begin with and learn how the bike feels. Then you can start going for longer rides on more hilly terrain. It will take a while to get into and properly learn which gears to use when, how fast to corner and when to put the power down etc. but just keep riding and it will come.

I found Strava really handy as it showed how fast people can go over different parts of their ride. It is easier to go up or down hill faster if you know some else has already done it much faster than you.