Beginner Rider

ABAzman
ABAzman Posts: 10
edited January 2014 in MTB beginners
Hi All!

The mtb bug has bitten me and here I am. I'm a student in Strathclyde Uni in Glasgow and I've just recently acquired a Giant Terrago Disc 2010 17 as my first ever proper bike (imho) after going to Cathkin Braes for a bit of action three times (in the rain, on frost and in an awesome weather). It's a second hand and I also use it as a daily commuter to work in the morning. It is pretty heavy, weighted +-15kg thus, i'm considering to get a lighter frame.

Looking around ebay I found these two:
Canyon Grand Canyon Al 7.0 16.5 frame - currently within budget (£200 and below) includes BB,HS,SP,F Mech
CBoardman HT Pro MTB 16 frame - still bidding but only sells the frame.

Any thoughts?

Cheers and Salam Perkenalan ( Nice to meet you in malay/indonesian)

Comments

• Hi! In my opinion I would just keep the bike as it is. Ride it for the winter and you will see what you like about the bike, what you don't get on with etc, and by Spring you could have saved up for a nice new bike, or a really nice second hand one (people seem to upgrade at the start of summer so there are lots of deals about).

If money if burning a hole in your pocket though, if it was my bike I would start by upgrading the tyres and then the forks. You could do both of these and see a big improvement whilst staying in your budget (assuming you have stock parts?).
  • Hi! Thank you for your reply. I was thinking about shedding some weight off it since I live on the third floor. The previous owner did upgrade the bike with Rockshox Tora, Deore Shifters, alexrims ace 17 and probably a new saddle? I'm not sure.But it does rides awesome on daily basis. Can't wait for the weather to calm down!
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    As above ride it until the spring so you know what you want from a bike then replace or upgrade it. You will have a much better idea then unless you just fancy a project.
  • The Rookie