Will Giant ever offer a Carbon disc road bike?

Tumba
Tumba Posts: 32
edited December 2013 in Road buying advice
Does anyone know if and when Giant will offer a Carbon disc
Brakes bike?

Comments

• bigpikle
    bigpikle Posts: 1,690
    ..and can they let me know the winning lottery numbers for this weekend please.
    Your Past is Not Your Potential...
  • If they do, let's hope it won't break.
  • Tumba
    edited November 2013
    What does if they do, let's hope they won't
    Brake mean? I am new to Road biking and the many companies? Is Giant considered a cheaply made bike?
  • giant_man
    giant_man Posts: 6,878
    lol, i think they're taking the wee-wee out of your spelling son ..
  • alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    Tumba wrote:
    Does anyone know if and when Giant will offer a Carbon disc
    Brakes bike?

Yes.

I'm guessing 2015 bikes since they haven't launched one this year.
  • maddog 2
    maddog 2 Posts: 8,114
    A Giant TCR Advanced disc would be very nice.

Shame it won't be for 2014. They do a disc-CXer but the big guns have been slow to sort out a decent disc-roadie. Spesh have a disc Roubaix, but apart from that you're in the realms of Parlee, Bianchi, BMC, Volagi et al, which aren't generally cheap and sometimes quite ugly.
    Facts are meaningless, you can use facts to prove anything that's remotely true! - Homer
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    I'm sure they will one day.
  • Schoie81
    Schoie81 Posts: 749
    Just out of interest, and without wanting to hijack the thread - why are disc brakes quite rare on road bikes but pretty much standard on MTBs? Presumably there must be a reason they aren't generally put on road bikes - is it considered they aren't needed? Or is there a downside to disc brakes on a road bike that doesn't really matter on a MTB?
    "I look pretty young, but I'm just back-dated"
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    Schoie81 wrote: