Mountain bike forks

Shibooty
Shibooty Posts: 7
edited November 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hi I'm new to mountain biking just got a cannondale sl5 and it as been upgraded with rockshox tora 318 u-turn fork but the guy said he haven't put the right amount of oil in the forks so lost about 30 to 40mm it's that right or are the forks broke thanks

Comments

• mattv
    mattv Posts: 992
    If it's not got enough oil in a fork, it generally just affects the lockout and damping. Is it that it won't compress to full travel? All the way down? Thats a common failure on rockshox of that era, a seal goes inside the fork. Part is like £13. And a lowers service as well, expect a local shop to charge around £50-55 to fix and lowers service.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Or maybe they're U turned down.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • bartimaeus
    bartimaeus Posts: 1,812
    But you could try replacing the oil in the damper - measuring the right amount. It does make a big difference - the tolerance is pretty tight on the volume needed (to a ML or two).
    Vitus Sentier VR+ (2018) GT Grade AL 105 (2016)
    Giant Anthem X4 (2010) GT Avalanche 1.0 (2010)
    Kingley Vale and QECP Trail Collective - QECP Trail Building
  • Thanks for replys sounds like it the oil as when I'm on the bike the forks drop 30mm straight away thanks will try new oil in damper and bottom legs
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    That's not a lack of oil.....when you are on the bike in the normal riding position (not seated) the forks should drop by about 25% of the travel! you adjust the spring not the damper (where the oil goes) to adjust this sag.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • That's all adjust right m8 got to be oil
  • 97th choice