Clothing Advice

MattyH1991
MattyH1991 Posts: 7
edited November 2013 in Road buying advice
Hi guys,

First off i'm very new to road cycling having just purchased my first road bike. I'm looking for some advice on where to start with clothing and what items you'd consider most important. I already have a helmet etc so really i'm looking for advice on tights, jerseys and a jacket plus whatever else you would suggest.

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/end ... 683#select

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/alt ... 3#delivery

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/mav ... y-ec049232

I've been looking at the above, would they be a good place to start?

Thanks

Comments

• Smear yourself in embrocation cream, nothing else matters.
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • northpole
    northpole Posts: 1,499
    Very difficult question to answer in any meaningful way. You haven't said what type of riding you are doing - is it commuting, what distance, what weather are you prepared to put up with, etc? I'm sure this seems negative however, shops are full of all sorts of gear to suit all sorts of conditions.

My own preference, in UK at this time of year would be:

1. Decent bib shorts with good quality padding. You can combine leg warmers with these or wear bib longs over the top of them. I would not recommend leggings which rely on a waistband - they tend to constrict your breathing and with several types you can all too easily have the drawstring come out, never to be replaced!

2. Decent windproof jacket. I don't know about the one you identified, but the principal is sound ie protection on the front and breathable material on the rear. My own preference is to use one not waterproof to reduce sweating and combine with a packable waterproof jacket if the weather takes a turn for the worse.