garmin 500 GPS

chatlow
chatlow Posts: 845
edited November 2013 in Road general
I have just got a garmin 500 premium and I am finding that the GPS accuracy will be around 60ft.

Is this the norm? I have got software v3.30 and GPS: 2.60

Comments

• adr82
    adr82 Posts: 4,002
    Where are you getting the 60ft measurement from? Anyway, GPS accuracy will change from moment to moment depending on how many of the satellites are currently visible in the sky from the position of the receiver. It can also be significantly affected by environmental obstructions (trees, hills, buildings, etc) blocking line of sight to the satellites. Don't expect it to work like in the movies where you can instantly and reliably pinpoint your location to the nearest metre.
  • chatlow
    Getting the accuracy in the GPS settings and also had it as a data field when I tested it. I don't expect it to be bang on but read online that 20-40ft is the norm. To be honest, I am new to this and I just want to make sure the unit is working correctly as bought it on ebay and it will be going away for Christmas after I test it.
  • Did you let it lock onto satellites after you turned it on? If not, it takes a short while (couple of mins) after turning on to get a good lock on current satellite positions, if you don't wait and set off, it still works, but will be off accuracy by a country mile.
  • chatlow
    yup - I retract my first comment - let it load for a minute and it went down to 19ft.

How accurate is the gradient measurement in %?

Also - if I attach the speed/cadence sensor, then will the Garmin use this as it's primary source for speed and distance or will it still use GPS?

Thanks
  • chatlow wrote:
    yup - I retract my first comment - let it load for a minute and it went down to 19ft.

Also - if I attach the speed/cadence sensor, then will the Garmin use this as it's primary source for speed and distance or will it still use GPS?

Thanks