How realistic are my expectations?

craigmamakin
craigmamakin Posts: 14
edited March 2014 in Road beginners
This is my first post, so hello!

I've been commuting to work for about 18 months. I commute into central London (12 miles each way) and play Sunday football (+ train one night a week). Over the summer I was able to really push myself thanks to not playing football (off season for the yanks). I really enjoyed the cycling...so much so that I plan to compete / join a club in spring / summer 2014.

But frankly I have a few reservations...
I really don't know how fit I am...I just don't know if I'm fit enough to compete or will be come spring?
...in general I think my all round fitness is good...but I don't expect to be anywhere near as good as anyone who's been cycling seriously from a much younger age. (I'm 26 now).

I'm also unsure just how easy it is to get involved in competitive races...are their such things as cycling races for individuals? or must I bet part of a team / club? Are there any 'entry level' events that I can enter to get a benchmark against others? I've done some sportives of course, and my times have been relatively good (but I don't think this is much of a baseline).

Thanks for any advice in advanced,
Craig

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Haha I am in exactly the same boat as you. Commuting about 30 months (7 miles) but usually get a long weekend ride ride at least once a fortnight and do some Regents/Richmond park laps pre/post work once a week and also have done some longer rides (215 miler back in April) and happy doing century rides. I also want to start racing and set myself the following goal:

Getting fit over the winter (post xmas!)
    Joining a club in January
    Beasting myself until March
    Start racing in Spring.