Studded tyres on Tarmac

slowbike
slowbike Posts: 8,498
edited November 2013 in Commuting chat
As I was in Norway recently I felt it would've been rude not to check the bike bits they sell ... and found myself buying some 700/30 studded tyres for my commuter bike ...
I've checked they fit the wheel ok - so far so good ... but because it was nowhere near cold I went back to my normal 32 slicks for commuting.

Whilst there is snow forecast for next week I'm not expecting much down here, however, it does mean it'll be cold and with cold comes ice - which is why I bought the spikes ...

So - I'm intending to swap onto studded tyres this weekend - is there anything I should do or do different considering that most of the commute is on A roads - I do have one fast descent with a turn at the bottom - the normal hazards are drain covers but they're easy to miss ...

TIA

Comments

• Im no expert, but I would have thought unless there's compacted snow or thick continuous ice, they'd be rubbish on tarmac?
    Trek 1.5 Road
    Haro MTB
  • daviesee
    daviesee Posts: 6,386
    Learn how to do speedway turns with a foot down.
    None of the above should be taken seriously, and certainly not personally.
  • mattv
    mattv Posts: 992
    Spikes and studs are crap on dry tarmac. Slippy as hell, noisy and wear quickly. Save em til it snows!
  • unixnerd
    unixnerd Posts: 2,864
    I know that on studded car tyres the braking distance in the dry is a lot longer. Leave them until you need them. I go to Norway a fair bit myself, wonderful place to cycle.
    http://www.strathspey.co.uk - Quality Binoculars at a Sensible Price.
    Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert 2012, Cannondale CAAD5,
    Marin Mount Vision (1997), Edinburgh Country tourer, 3 cats!
  • Slowbike wrote:
    As I was in Norway recently I felt it would've been rude not to check the bike bits they sell ... and found myself buying some 700/30 studded tyres for my commuter bike ...