Which Wide narrow Chainring

russyh
russyh Posts: 1,375
edited November 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hi All,
I'm Converting to a 1x10 setup using a general lee adapter. I would like to know peoples thoughts around which Wide Narrow chainring seems to be offering the best value/wear. No real budget set yet, but sub £50 if possible. Any thoughts about what seems to be working well?

Cheers

Comments

• lawman
    lawman Posts: 6,868
    All pretty much the same tbh. I've been using a works components ring for the last 6 months and it's been faultless. As I say they're all very similar, anything from works, raceface, absolute black or a wolff tooth will be fine, pick which one you like the most, whether it be on price or flashy anodising and go for it :)
  • CitizenLee
    CitizenLee Posts: 2,227
    The RaceFace Wide Narrow gets great reviews, as does the Wolf Tooth Components Drop-Stop.

I'm swapping from 1x9 to 1x10 and went for a RaceFace, although it's not here yet.

Plenty of people say you can use any single ring mind you, I just wanted to drop a size so thought I may as well get one designed for 1x10.
    Current:
    NukeProof Mega FR 2012
    Cube NuRoad 2018
    Previous:
    2015 Genesis CdF 10, 2014 Cube Hyde Race, 2012 NS Traffic, 2007 Specialized SX Trail, 2005 Specialized Demo 8
  • WindyG
    WindyG Posts: 1,099
    I use RaceFace Narrowwide rings but as above I doubt there is any difference between them. Bit too early to tell what they are like wear wise as they should last ages compared to standard chainrings, you will easily keep sub £50 I paid under £40 for mine from Rutland cycles
  • WindyG wrote:
    Bit too early to tell what they are like wear wise as they should last ages compared to standard chainrings, you will easily keep sub £50 I paid under £40 for mine from Rutland cycles

I'd actually say it would wear faster than a standard ring.
  • dusk
    dusk Posts: 583