Sora front derailleur

sagefly
sagefly Posts: 295
edited November 2013 in Workshop
Hi guys,

My Sora front derailleur has stopped shifting from the smalll ring to the large ring.

The derailleur move but doesnt not make contact with the chain.

I've adjusted the barrell adjuster coming out of the shifter and this doesnt give enough movement to make the chain touch the derailleur.

Nothing seems bent or twisted with the mechanism so I'm at a loss to figure why suddenlt it wont shift.

If I poke, adjust and fiddle with it enough can I get lucky enough to fix it or, can i do enough damage to really cost myself some money.

Any answers really appreciated
Turned out nice again!

Comments

• laurentian
    laurentian Posts: 2,510
    I am far from an expert here and will take any correcting but, I had a similar problem a while ago.

Have you tried pulling the exposed cable by hand (ie don't use your shifter, literally just pull the cable) to see if it makes contact with the chain and pushes it over? (you may need to put the bike on a stand or table to do this).

If this works, it just means that your cable is not tight enough, you need to unscrew the clamp screw that holds the cable to the mechanism, pull some cable through and then re-tighten. If you're doing this, you need to turn your barrel adjuster back to where it was first to allow for some fine adjustment afterwards
    Wilier Izoard XP
  • Yup - if the cable is slack then barrel adjuster back to original position, undo clamp bolt, pull up slack, redo clamp bolt.

You also have two screws on the mech - one moves it up and down, one in and out.

With the cable slack (ie chain on small ring) and using a good Philips s/driver move the cage in and out until it shifts the chain as you want it.