FRED WHITON 2014 - gear ratio for hills

julesdud
julesdud Posts: 5
edited November 2013 in Road beginners
Bonjour, I'm new here so please go easy on me.

I have signed up for the Wiggle Dragon Ride (gran Fondo) and hopefully when entry opens I will sign up for the Fred Whiton.

Now comes the technical bit. Hill climbing, can anyone tell me what gear ratios I will need to complete these rides?

I currently own a Merida Race Lite 904 with the following on it --

CHAINWHEEL Shimano R565 50-34

And

FREEWHEEL Shimano CS-4600-10 12-28

I am a 31yr old male, weighing 13st.

Like I said, I am new to this so be gentle with me.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Comments

• rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    Hmmmm, if you don't know what gear ratios you need for the Fred Whitton then you probably aren't ready for the Fred Whitton! ;)

I did it a few years ago. I'm a good climber. As I walked up Hardknott, my 34-29 having not been low enough to keep me in the saddle, I saw plenty of folk pushing standard 39 - somethings. They were barely moving faster than me but they were still on their bikes. What gearing you need depends on you. But I'd say that unless you have experienced some of the main climbs on the Fred already, it probably isn't wise to have a go at the Fred unless you really know your ability - it's one thing to be able to get up something like Hardknott when reasonably fresh but it is something else entirely to do it after 100 miles of Kirkstone pass, Honister pass, Newlands pass, Whinlatter pass, Cold Fell and one or two more not insignificant others possibly in terrible weather conditions. It's not that I'm saying you couldn't do it - just that it might not be much fun.

But otherwise, 34-28 is possible but if you can set up something close to 1:1 ratio you'll probably thank yourself on the day.
    Faster than a tent.......