Which shoes for flat pedals?

Xommul
Xommul Posts: 251
edited November 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hi Folks,

Noobish question.

Just ordered my first full sus bike. Have been doing some internet searching whilst it arrives. Seems there is a following for new riders to use flats instead of clip less pedals to help get the basic skills in place before progressing. True or not?

Sounds logical to me so I'm asking for advice re flat pedals (I'm 100kg) and can I wear any old trainer on them or should I be looking at something more specific.

Thnx in advance

Tony
MTB Trek 4300 Disc 1999
Road Rose Carbon Pro RS Custom
Canyon Spectral AL 7.9 29er

Comments

• Kowalski675
    Kowalski675 Posts: 4,412
    These have served me brillaintly this summer since I started riding:

http://www.sportsdirect.com/no-fear-cor ... e=24202044

Loads of grip on my Wellgo B54 pedals, pretty stiff sole for pedalling (way stiffer than any of the Airwalk equivalents), comfy on and off the bike and wearing well (a little chewing of the sole from the pedal pins but nothing major). Real bargain. They're still serving me well, with loads of life left in them, but just last night I had a moment of weakness and ordered these half price:

http://www.jejamescycles.co.uk/teva-lin ... 68383.html

I am a bad man.
  • Xommul
    I like the Teva links. My only concern with your no fear trainers is that weather and mud will destroy them.

I am a clip less road rider and I run shimano R87 on look keo pedals with neoprene overshoes for wet riding and anyicipating wetter muddier rides in the new bike trainers seem under powered.

Do they do hard wearing weather proof mtb trainers for flat pedals?
    MTB Trek 4300 Disc 1999
  • bartimaeus
    bartimaeus Posts: 1,812
    Shimano AM41... comfy, good grip and very practical now it's wet and miserable
    Vitus Sentier VR+ (2018) GT Grade AL 105 (2016)
    Giant Anthem X4 (2010) GT Avalanche 1.0 (2010)
    Kingley Vale and QECP Trail Collective - QECP Trail Building