Trek Madone 2.1 or Giant Defy 1? Suggestions welcome.

Anonymous
Anonymous Posts: 79,667
edited November 2013 in Road buying advice
£1000 pounds, this is what I plan to spend on my very first road bike. I initially set out to pay £1500, but I gathered that i could spend the rest on pedals and extras.

I've narrowed it down to 2 bikes. The Trek Madone 2.1 and the Giant Defy 1. I know as much that I needn't go for a carbon frame, as i'm a beginner and probably going to damage it before I get a good ride of it. No comeback!

I have sat on both of them, the most frustrating thing being that it wasn't in the same shop. Both are on either side of the city :(

If anyone has others suggestions, please feel free to offer your opinion and thoughts.

Thank you

Comments

• I'm fairly new to road bikes myself so can only offer an opinion based on fairly limited experience but I had a similar dilemma earlier in the year although I was torn between the Giant and the Trek Domane 2.0. I found the set up of these 2 bikes more comparable than the Madone. I eventually went for the Domane 2.3 rather than the 2.0 mainly because I got offered a better deal rather than anything else
  • mattv
    mattv Posts: 992
    Dont rule out carbon. They make space ships out of it. And have you ever seen the crashes F1 cars take? If you look around, you could get a Spesh Tarmac for a grand.
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    Planet X/Ribble/Dolan all carbon with a choice of Ultegra, Rival, 105 etc all at the £1000 mark, why pay extra for a big brand and get less for your money. All are good quality bikes. :)
  • taon24
    taon24 Posts: 185
    Buy something with mudguard/rack eyelets and clearance for 'guards. This gives the bike longer term potential if you ever buy a nicer bike or want to do something a bit different on the bike. This is true of my 2011 Defy 2. I use it as my wet weather/commuting/trip to town bike, while my subsequent bike is kept for best.