I have something massive planned

baldwin471
baldwin471 Posts: 366
edited November 2013 in Tour & expedition
Hello you lot. Haven't been on here for a long time due to travelling the blue marble.

So I have a massive tour planned.

London - Bangkok.

I've got money saved up and I'm ready to head off in January with a friend. Problem is, I have no touring experience.

I know that sounds stupid attempting something like this with no prior touring under the belt, but I want to experience as much as I can in the next year.

I've got my road bike, but I'm guessing I'll need a proper touring bike.

So firstly, any suggestions on a good touring bike?

Secondly, what kind of equipment do I need? Aside from the obvious (Tent, sleeping bag, rations etc)

I'm planning on hitting around 80-100km per day 6 days a week with a day off on the 7th.

Anyone here done something similar or know anyone who has? I'd love to talk to someone about it.

Thanks in advance, and hope everyone is well!

Alex.

Comments

• thistle_
    thistle_ Posts: 7,144
    A colleague did South Korea-UK on a motorbike a few years back.

He wanted to go through Mongolia and Khazakhstan but was peruaded to just go through Russia. You need to carry some cash for when you get 'fined' by the police in Russia apparently.

He had issues getting from Russia into the EU, but I guess you won't have that problem if you're going the other way.

What route were you planning?
  • The lower route. Middle of Europe into Turkey, through Turkey into Iran, Pakistan, India and Bangladesh before going through Myanmar and down into Thailand.
  • Good luck getting from India into Myanmar legally, then out the other side. I don't think it's possible. I went out the top of Thailand into Burma for the day to renew my Thai Visa and wasn't allowed to go beyond a certain point. I needed a permit for the areas just outside the little town on the border. Look into it, things have changed in the last couple of years.