Road bike disc break dilemma

Tumba
Tumba Posts: 32
edited November 2013 in Road buying advice
First time post so please be kind!

I am new to road biking. I bought my first bike in June of 2013. When I started biking I weighed 285 and am 6'3. I currently weigh 220. I have been bitten by the road bike bug and really love it. I did not think I would, but I really do. My ultimate goal is to get down to 200 pounds. I believe I can reach this goal with my new found love for road biking.

My current bike is the Specialized Secteur Sport Disc http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bikes/ ... -sport-dis

Being new to the sport and knowing nothing about frame materials, component hierarchy, companies etc. I chose an entry level bike that would give me in my mind the option to ride a little off road and on dirt roads if I needed to. I had no Idea that I would end up ridding 20 to 30 miles at a time and love it. The Local bike shop recommend that I get a bike with disc breaks if I had any intent to ride my bike in the winter or spring months here in Colorado. I with with the Secteur disc because I thought it would give me the most flexibility as I was not sure If I would love the sport and stay with it. 6 months latter I really love the sport and I am looking to buy a new road bike in the Spring. However I have a dilemma that I was hoping I could voice here and hopefully get some feed back and suggestions.

I would like to get a Carbon bike with at least 105 components. However I do not want to spend $2000 or more for a carbon frame that is not designed for disc breaks. If the industry is going to disc breaks on road bikes why would I buy a non disc carbon frame now and then have to spend another $2000 or more in a few years when disc breaks are every where?

Any thoughts on this dilemma would be great thanks!

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Why would you have to buy a new bike in 2 years time ?