Fitting a mudguard to my Giant Defy 5

bigmeanbunny
bigmeanbunny Posts: 39
edited August 2014 in Road beginners
Hi guys

after my initial sign up for buying advice, I went with a Giant Defy 5 compact which I am loving (I figured to start cheap and then can upgrade if I enjoy it)

I got the Giant Defy Fenders for them though to cut down on the spray in the bad weather, however I have zero idea how to fit them despite the extremely comprehensive instructions they came with...

IMG_0347_zps99afd007.jpg

Any advice to a complete novice, never fitted anything like this and my first bike in about 15 years. Where do I start? do you need to take the wheels and brakes off for example?!

Comments

• This video is similar but you will need to remove the brake caliper to put the tab behind.

http://youtu.be/fhzECAgQx3c

Good luck I am a mechanic and they are not simple,just take your time and be patient.
  • cheers, thats a massive help. Wouldn't have brought them had I known whats required. Asked the lad in the shop if they were easy to fit for someone that doesn't know anything about bikes and isn't great at manual tasks and he was like "yeah you'll be fine mate".
  • Fitted some to my Defy 3 and the rear one had to enlarge the cut out to enable me to screw to my frame, the chap in the shop did warn me of this......and it did take me about 50 mins of buggering about till I was completely happy ;-)
  • Primus84
    Primus84 Posts: 109
    To be fair I had no problems installing mine other than the screws wouldn't fit in the screw holes in the front forks originally due to the paint in the threads. Once they were cleared delicately they were fine. This may have also been down to be be wary about stressing a CF front fork but this was the fiddliest bit.