Diet and cycling

Finegan
Finegan Posts: 14
edited November 2013 in Road beginners
Hi I am fairly new to Road Cycling, about 14 weeks in now. I have recently joined a cycling club and enjoy going out on a club run. I came to cycling as I had recently lost 2 stone on a diet and wanted to return to sensible eating but still keep the weight off so new I need to find my sport.
Well this sunday we did a club run which was very hilly and with the ride to the meeting point and back it was 50 miles. This is the most distance I have done in one day. The two weeks before I had only managed 10 miles due to holiday and sickness and the night before I had been at a friends party and not eaten well (cake for lunch!). Anyway I really struggled at the end of the ride and at a junction I clipped in and my leg refused to move causing me to fall off. Once home I was very shaking as I think my blood sugar had dropped. This shocked me as I have never had anything like this and never struggled on other rides, though they have been shorter.
So I am in need of some advise. I am kind of guessing I need to start carrying gel packs and look at my nutrition. Anyone know of a site with good information on diet (general not weight loss) and cycling. Do people Carb up even before a short ride?

I have to admit I feel very stupid about what happened and part of me wants to run and hide in shame and the other wants to prove I can do more than 50!

Comments

• 50 miles is a long way to ride and people usually work their way upto that distance more slowly.

id say you need to have a good meal before a long ride and take gels too,

i usually have porridge about an hour before the ride, then have a banana in my pocket for around the 35mile mark

then gels as a back up. you did really well but were just not prepared

you wont forget your first BONK, and will avoud it like the plague next time

well done on your first 50