Changing bike frame

Milesy148
Milesy148 Posts: 4
edited November 2013 in Workshop
Hi, this is my first time using the BR forum so go easy on me !!..

I'm hoping for some assistance ahead of my 1st attempt at changing components to a new bike frame.

I ride a 2010 Focus Cayo carbon (size M, 54cm) but have just bought a 2 yr old Focus Izalco carbon frame and forks frame size 58cm which is more suitable for me, I'm 5'11. The Izalco frame looks almost new condition, really pleased with it !..

Rather than take the frame into my LBS my plan is to switch all the components (Chorus chain set, derailleur, crank etc...) from my Cayo onto the Izalco myself, hopefully learning plenty about bike setup on the way.
Does anyone have experience of putting together a carbon bike basically from scratch ?..

If so, is there a particular order of what job/s should be done first ?

Feedback welcome and appreciated, thanks. Dan

Comments

• markyone
    markyone Posts: 1,119
    If you have the right tools it should be straight forward.
    I quite like working on my bike and also I have swapped over components to another frame.
    Go on you tube and you can find out all you need to know,it really is easy go for it.
    Colnago c60 Eps super record 11
    Pinarello F8 with sram etap
  • Bozman
    Bozman Posts: 2,518
    Just take your time and there won't be a problem, use You Tube and Park Tools if you have any issues.
    I built an Izalco up about 18/24 months ago, the only issues that I came across were the internal cabling for the front mech, the internal plastic tube was squashed at the head tube end but a torch and a small screw driver sorted that, plus you may find it easier to flick the plastic tube out from behind the BB to feed the cable through.

Before you cable up I'd check that you are comfortable on the bike, I'm 5'10 and the medium was a bit of a stretch so I had the small frame due to the horizontal TT length(53.7).