Which one would you choose (for me)

soultempest
soultempest Posts: 4
edited October 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hi everyone,

I am new to this. The last bicycle I was on, was in high school.
I have friends that are into mountain biking, and I am considering joining up.
It will be mostly recreational and off-road. I do not wish to do this professionally, although I am sure I will end up doing some events and trail runs just for the experience.
So I am basically looking for a beginner / entry level bike, but I also don't want something that is going to break when taking a bit of hammering. Something that will last for a while. I won't have the cash to upgrade or buy another one anytime soon.
I went looking today, and the salesman recommended one of two bikes.

The one is the Avalanche GT 3.0, reviewed here on Bikeradar: http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/category/bikes/mountain-bikes/product/review-gt-avalanche-3-0-disc-hydro-10-36097/

The second one is the Silverback Slade 4 (650b). Info sheet here: http://www.silverbacklab.com/upload/2011_website_SILVERBACK/slade4_14.htm

They are roughly the same price - $570.

This was just the first shop that I went to, so I have some more time for research.
I just want to know if I am on the right track.

Given the specs on the two bikes in question, and my requirements, I would love to hear what you would have chosen if you were me.

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• passout
    passout Posts: 4,425
    Well, I like GTs & the review was good. Never heard of the other one, so GT.
    'Happiness serves hardly any other purpose than to make unhappiness possible' Marcel Proust.
  • Myster101
    Myster101 Posts: 856
    Have a read of the link below as it's quite a regular topic. What is your top budget and what sort of 'off road' will you be doing?

viewtopic.php?f=20005&t=12875967

Scott Genius MC 30 RIP
    Nukeproof Mega AM 275 Comp
    Cube LTD Rigid Commuter
    Ribble 7005 Sportive
  • Myster101