First post! Buying advice (Unbranded frame!)

JParko
JParko Posts: 10
edited October 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hi Everyone,

I have been biking for a couple of years now and currently use a Zesty 314 which is great but I fancy the jump up.
Ideally looking for a big jump and go for my dream build although with the top brands like Santa Cruz they are crazy expensive.

I was speaking to a friend of mine who has worked at a bike shop for years and we started discussing these unbranded carbon frames which got me thinking about a custom build through that route, he is willing to supply/fit everything for some money which would take the pain out of it.

So far I have got a written quote which I would like you to look over and see if you think its worth the whole unbranded thing. The frame is from a US company and with two years warranty. The frame seems excellent as it uses the FSR design like Specialized plus has internal cable routing, tapered headset, 142 x 12 rear end. Seems to tick most of the boxes for me plus its 650b which I would prefer over 29er.

Here is what I am working on so far:
130 carbon frame - 27.5"/650b
Forks: Rockshox Pike RCT3
Shock: Rockshox Monarch RCT3 shock
Brakes: X0 Trail
Shifters: X01
Chainset: X01
Derailleur: X01
Cassette: Sram PG1195
Wheels: Reynolds AM Alloy (Possibly carbon)
Seatpost: Rockshox Reverb MMX 125
Bottom bracket: GXP
Saddle: RaceFace Atlas
Stem: RaceFace Atlas
Bars: Raceface Sixc

This is pretty much my dream build and with taxes/delivery etc I think all in it will sit me at £2950, give or take £100.

What do you all think of this, I would say the price is fair considering I essentially hand him the spec list and then collect it on XX date. The weak link to me seems to be the carbon unbranded frame but he has used the company before and the 2 years warranty is putting me at ease a little.

What do you think, go the custom route or buy fully built?