Rockshox reba 2010

petegee56
petegee56 Posts: 20
edited October 2013 in MTB buying advice
Looking to upgrade the fork on my carrera Vulcan 2012 ( suntour xcm 120mm ) I have come across some 2010 rockshox reba dual air, look in excellent nick and just serviced, I'm struggling to find any reviews of the rebas from this year anyone know if they were any good or should I spend the extra 130 or so quid getting 2013 rebas from merlin cycles

The seller says the forks have not had a huge amount of use but at that age will they still hold up

Sorry I'm a newbie

Pete

Comments

• 97th choice
    97th choice Posts: 2,222
    It will be a cracking fork if the condition is as you say, although I thought the Vulcan ran 100mm forks?
    Too-ra-loo-ra, too-ra-loo-rye, aye

Giant Trance
    Radon ZR 27.5 Race
    Btwin Alur700
    Merida CX500
  • It's a 120mm fork on the Vulcan although the bike radar review said the struggled to get more than 100mm put of it. Any more advice on how to tell the condition of a fork, stanchions look immaculate could of cosmetic scratches on the paint but nothing major
  • The best way is to get it on a bike and try it out. My old Rebas lose a bit of air every ride (even though they have been rebuilt and serviced by SRAM).
    I would put in some air then ride it around the block pushing down on the fork and pulling it up over curbs.
    Then recheck the amount of air in them.
    2007 Felt Q720 (the ratbike)
    2012 Cube Ltd SL (the hardtail XC 26er)
    2014 Lapierre Zesty TR 329 (the full-sus 29er)
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    The best way is to get it on a bike and try it out. My old Rebas lose a bit of air every ride (even though they have been rebuilt and serviced by SRAM).
    I would put in some air then ride it around the block pushing down on the fork and pulling it up over curbs.
    Then recheck the amount of air in them.
    This will never work as as soon as you attach the pump they will drop by ~20psi.