what sort of offence is it to throw a bottle at someone...

gingaman
gingaman Posts: 576
edited October 2013 in Commuting general
...when driving?

i witnessed some pretty abysmal behaviour from a signwritten van last evening. the driver tried to throw a bottle at another road user he had just cut up after blocking traffic and shouting abuse. i am writing an email to his company but am unsure if and what sort of offence throwing a bottle is. can anyone help?

thanks

Comments

• If it hits someone - assault. If it damages something - criminal damage. If neither, possibly a public order type offence.

If the driver is concentrating more on aiming a bottle than on his driving, maybe careless/inconsiderate driving.

Disclaimer - I am not a lawyer.
    Ecrasez l’infame
  • gingaman
    Thanks BelgianBeerGeek.

[email]I am writing to complain about one of your drivers, and his abusive behaviour towards other road users. I was adjacent to your driver and then one car behind him when he changed lanes and witnessed the following interchange.

Yesterday evening at around 1600 hrs. coming through Woking on the A320, one lane is for straight on under the train bridge and one is for turning right. Your driver (in the signwritten van with reg plate AE12LAL) had positioned himself in the right hand lane. Traffic is always busy here and switching between lanes can be tricky, but with a little patience it can be achieved well in advance of the lanes splitting.

Why then did your driver, after having already successfully changed lanes, feel the need to stop his van (blocking all traffic under the bridge), and open the driver’s door to lean out and hurl abuse at the lady whom he had just cut up? As bad as this is, he then tried to throw a drinks bottle at the following drivers car but failed and it landed on his own roof.

I hope this isn’t the sort of aggressive attitude your company advocates, and that at the very least you could have a stern word with your driver.