"Stealthing" your bike up... any ideas?

claddo
claddo Posts: 27
edited October 2013 in Commuting general
Not long ago, I had my lovely city bike, a Whyte Stirling, stolen. After this, I gave buying a cheaper bike just for town riding and occasional commutes about.... uumm.. 5 seconds thought before obviously rushing off to buy a Boardman Hybrid Pro. (could almost double as a winter trainer I told myself... :lol: )

Now I have a flashy city bike back, I'm thinking I would like to tone it down a bit.
Anyone have any ideas/experience beyond throwing on black electrical tap everywhere?...

I'm planning to:
- take off all the stickers
- Put a tatt(ier) old saddle on
- Some kind of black tape (which kind?!?) on the down tube etc..
Its an alu frame/carbon fork.

OR am I just being a bit silly and should sack this whole idea off?
Thanks for any ideas!

Comments

• Mud everywhere, except the brakes and drive train :-) They hate mud.
  • Asda carrier bag over the saddle when not in use - that always looks nice...
  • daddy0
    daddy0 Posts: 686
    Put a bunch of stickers on it then half tear them off.

Change all your screws for rusty looking ones.

Scuff up your bar tape.

Change one of the rims, so you have odd wheels.
  • chris_bass
    chris_bass Posts: 4,913
    If i was you i'd just get a decent lock and leave it somewhere as safe as you can.

failing that paint it white and put police stickers on it.
    www.conjunctivitis.com - a site for sore eyes
  • monkimark
    monkimark Posts: 1,881
    I'd say it would be difficult to stealth it up that much - the shaped tubes, hydraulic discs, shiny components are going to be pretty hard to disguise.
    You'll make your shiny new bike look a lot worse for a tiny bit of theft deterrent.
  • jonomc4
    jonomc4 Posts: 891
    insure it well and lock it up well somewhere safe
  • Wrap insulating tape around the frame then run over it with sandpaper...
  • jonomc4 wrote:
    insure it well and lock it up well somewhere safe