broke my wrist

unixnerd
unixnerd Posts: 2,864
edited November 2013 in Commuting chat
My cat broke his back leg and on Monday I was going to have to drive to the next village and collect him. But I'd some shopping to do first so went off on the mtb, nice day so took the long way home. Noticed they'd put in a lowered kerb to get from the road to the cycle path so headed over it. Must have been to shallow an angle / too high a kerb / grit but I went flying.

Bike OK. I have a little road rash and a broken right radius (in 7 bits) now sporting a nice titanium plate. Walked a few 100m to the docs and got x-rayed there, then off to Inverness by ambulance. NHS were quick and very professional, couldn't have asked for better.

No pain but I'm in a soft mega bandage for two weeks and then four more until I can ride or drive, I'm a contractor so big financial loss too. Nice to be able to spend some time at home though, I work in Aberdeen four days a week and get homesick a lot. Can move fingers fine and surprised I'm in so little pain.

Ho hum.
http://www.strathspey.co.uk - Quality Binoculars at a Sensible Price.
Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert 2012, Cannondale CAAD5,
Marin Mount Vision (1997), Edinburgh Country tourer, 3 cats!

Comments

• Mikey23
    Mikey23 Posts: 5,306
    That's a shame... Nasty injury. Hope you heal soon
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,692
    Oh, that's annoying.
    If you can move your fingers and doing so won't affect your wrist I would say do it as much as possible. Presumably you will be having some sort of physio later. Do everything they say, a lot.
    Having injured my hand a year ago, and doing all my physio, it is still quite stiff. I still have to do some of my exercises to keep it mobile.
    A friends wife broke her wrist a while ago and refuses to do the physio as it hurts. She can barely use what is now a claw.
    Again, sorry to hear that. Hope you heal fast and completely.
  • merkin
    merkin Posts: 452