Mud guards

runny
runny Posts: 13
edited October 2013 in Road beginners
Just wondering whether people tend to put mud guards on their road bikes. Of course, I have them on my MTB. But I'm a road bike newbie, and looking around the cycle paths etc. other road bikes don't seem to have them.

Can you put them on, and what are the pros/cons?

Comments

• BrandonA
    BrandonA Posts: 553
    I think a lot of people use them. If you look at sites like Evans Cycles they have lots for sale. I've never used them on a road bike and last year I got soaked as a result. This year I intend to buy some.

The bike won't look as cool (esp when you ride with mudguards on a dry day) and they may slow you down but its a balancing act between those days when you'd get drenched without them.

You can also buy some which supposedly help keep some spray away from your chainset which can't be a bad thing.
  • kentphil
    kentphil Posts: 479
    SKS make great guards. Take longer to fit than you would think, but once on there brilliant.
    1998 Kona Cindercone in singlespeed commute spec
    2013 Cannondale Caadx 1x10
    2004 Giant TCR
  • Hoopdriver
    Hoopdriver Posts: 2,023
    +1 for SKS and for mudguards in general. Very sensible thing to have on your bike, not just for keeping your person clean and dry but for the drivetrain of the bike as well.
  • turnerjohn
    turnerjohn Posts: 1,069
    if you have a proper race bike aka without eye-let mudguard mounts you maybe able to squeeze a set of Crud roadracer mudguards on (same Crud who do MTB stuff your probably know) their super light, super strong and about the best looking guards you can get....not that thats saying much !
  • dai_t75
    dai_t75 Posts: 189