Newbie Charity ride Advice

TFC1
TFC1 Posts: 62
edited November 2013 in Road beginners
Afternoon all, hopefully I will be able to get some good avice from you friendly bunch!

I am a total newbie to road riding and have just signed up to do a charity ride next year. It is 450 miles in 5 days in europe with some climbs involved apprently :shock: .

so far i have done a bit of mountain biking, mainly traails round Epping forest and would say i am medium fitness. I took my hardtail out on the road on sunday and did 40 miles in 3 hours with a few hills in there and loved it!

I have about 8 months to train and get ready and will be buying a road bike soon. Budget probably £1k and would be grateful for any advice on bike suggestions (i am 6ft tall and just under 15stone. I expect to shed c 1 stone as part of the training) and any ideas for how to ramp up the training programme!

many thanks :D

Comments

• simonhead
    simonhead Posts: 1,399
    Are you supported or unsupported?
    Life isnt like a box of chocolates, its like a bag of pic n mix.
  • arran77
    arran77 Posts: 9,260
    simonhead wrote:
    Are you supported or unsupported?

Yes, this is important, if you are lugging 5 days of kit yourself and camping allowing the way then something more along the lines of a touring bike would suit more but if you have support and are staying in hotels etc the advice will be very different.

Give us a bit more info and people can advise accordingly :)
    "Arran, you are like the Tony Benn of smut. You have never diluted your depravity and always stand by your beliefs. You have my respect sir and your wife my pity" :lol:

seanoconn
  • rubertoe
    rubertoe Posts: 3,994
    Simon and Arran are right,