Tyre Pressures

Dave195817
Dave195817 Posts: 29
edited October 2013 in Cyclocross
HI all!

I'm fairly new to cross racing, and seem to be struggling with getting my tyre pressures correct. I'm currently running 700x32 cross tyres with around 45psi, but seem to be loosing the back end whenever I come into contact with slightly greasy ground. The ground is still very hard, however the grass on top is wet/greasy.

Any thoughts?

Comments

• Dave195817 wrote:
    HI all!

I'm fairly new to cross racing, and seem to be struggling with getting my tyre pressures correct. I'm currently running 700x32 cross tyres with around 45psi, but seem to be loosing the back end whenever I come into contact with slightly greasy ground. The ground is still very hard, however the grass on top is wet/greasy.

Any thoughts?

You can probably drop it by another 5 psi - doesn't sound a lot but will make a difference. Best not to go too low, though, <35 psi in a CX clincher tyre leaves you very prone to pinch-flats, as well as the risk of a spill whilst cornering on harder ground (been there, done that) - the back end tends to slide too easily.

David
    "It is not enough merely to win; others must lose." - Gore Vidal
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    It depends on your weight, riding conditions and tyre choice - often a case of trial and error to find a pressure that you can run safely without the risk of pinch punctures. I run clinchers at about 30psi and tubulars less, but I only weight 60kg.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • Ride the course at race speed - if your tyres never bottom out, they're too hard. If they bottom out regularly, too soft. If they bottom out once ore twice during the lap, they're about right.
  • Paul 8v
    Paul 8v Posts: 5,458