Is 1,200 hours good for a light?

iPete
iPete Posts: 6,076
edited October 2013 in Commuting chat
My trusty and 'bomb' proof light has developed a loose connection and was left at home this morning. :cry:

I'm no expert but is 1,200 hours or 2 years of use a good innings?

On a plus side the model was revised this year and now has a 15 hrs – 200 hr hour run time :shock:, more lumens and Osram Oslon LEDs [whatever that means!].

Comments

• menthel
    menthel Posts: 2,484
    Sounds fair to me if it was all weather use.
    RIP commute...
    Sometimes seen bimbling around on a purple Fratello Disc or black and red Aprire Vincenza.
  • iPete
    Day and night, rain or snow every single day of the year but the unit does cost £80 without battery.
  • Wrath Rob
    Wrath Rob Posts: 2,918
    I'm expecting my Ayup to last for a lot longer than 2 years. After getting through over £100 of lights in 2 years I bit the bullet and spent £130 to get a light that should last a very long time. 3 years later and I'm still very happy with them.
    FCN3: Titanium Qoroz.
  • iPete wrote:
    Day and night, rain or snow every single day of the year but the unit does cost £80 without battery.

Which light is it out of interest?

Jon
    Commuting between Twickenham <---> Barbican on my trusty Ridgeback Hybrid - url=http://strava.com/athletes/125938/badge]strava[/url
  • iPete
    edited September 2013
    Wrath Rob wrote:
    I'm expecting my Ayup to last for a lot longer than 2 years. After getting through over £100 of lights in 2 years I bit the bullet and spent £130 to get a light that should last a very long time. 3 years later and I'm still very happy with them.

Truth be told I was expecting a few more years of use which is why I'm curious if in terms of hours it has been good value for a LED light (?).

With a bit of luck I can repair it myself.
    jonnyboy77 wrote:
    iPete wrote:

Which light is it out of interest?

Jon

Hope District.