Given a road bike, how good is it and whats it worth?

Silenced
Silenced Posts: 3
edited September 2013 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I was given this bike as payment for me doing work for a friend but I have no knowledge as to road bikes so I was wondering if you guys could give me some information and what the bike is worth? I don't know whether its worth me selling the bike or not depending on the value. I would ride it occasionally but seems silly to have an expensive bike that I'd never ride.

Here are some pictures - https://drive.google.com/folderview?id= ... sp=sharing

Any more information needed please ask

Thanks!

Comments

• Mikey41
    Mikey41 Posts: 690
    It's a CX bike and it looks damn good to me! I have no idea what it's worth, but I bet it cost some to build it to that spec.
    Giant Defy 2 (2012)
    Giant Defy Advanced 2 (2013)
    Giant Revel 1 Ltd (2013)
    Strava
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    Mikey41 wrote:
    It's a CX bike and it looks damn good to me! I have no idea what it's worth, but I bet it cost some to build it to that spec.

Tiagra with sora shifters isn't exactly top spec.
    More problems but still living....
  • Phil_D wrote:

It's not stolen, don't worry. I know where it was purchased from, the guy who bought and gave me it has had it a while and ridden it about 3 miles and then just never rode it again.
  • redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    Looks like a self build project, can't see a manufacturer putting a 53/39 on a cross bike, maybe a compact CS.
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • nferrar
    nferrar Posts: 2,511
    I'd say £300-400, it's pretty dated and fairly low spec. If you're selling then now is a good time to do it as cross season is starting and there's always people looking for a cheap one to give cross a try
  • Mikey41
    Mikey41 Posts: 690
    amaferanga wrote:
    Mikey41 wrote:

Tiagra with sora shifters isn't exactly top spec.