Saddle advice

Snowy 70
Snowy 70 Posts: 15
edited September 2013 in Road beginners
I've been using a Selle SMP extra seat for about 3 months now & I seem to acquire a numb(ish) 'undercarriage' after about 10/15 miles, I've even had to tilt the nose down on this seat as I can still feel pressure there, I've also noticed I tend to stand up more, this seat was supposedly designed to relieve that kind of pressure which I admit did to begin with but as mentioned above, it seems to be getting a little uncomfortable.

I don't have a LBS to be able to loan me different types of seats to try so have been doing some of my own research online into the options available, I'm particularly drawn to the Specialized Romin range, the wide cut out seems very appealing.

My question is this, Is there an alternative seat with this same shape cut out & quality or should I just listen to the hype and purchase this seat?

Any advice or experience of these seats will be gratefully received. :mrgreen:

Comments

• Why are you drawn to the specialized? I did the selle italia id match and would recomend it but finding the 'one' can be a lengthy process
    "It never gets easier, you just go faster"
  • No experience with the seat you mention, but experienced the discomfort you mention.....

Also suffered with this on my road bike. Normally after about 25 miles.
    I took my bike back to the LBS to make sure that the fit was correct. Made a couple of minor adjustments.
    I also binned my padded elastic shorts and purchased a couple of pairs of mid priced bib shorts. I also now stretch before and after ever ride, especially focusing on the glutes and the hamstrings.
    After each ride I also use a foam roller. I have to admit that this has helped quite a lot and whilst my longer rides are not the most comfortable experiences the numbess seems to have gone without the need for a new seat.
  • Thanks for the replies/advice guys... :D