Advice with Road Bike

fat-lad-on-a-bike
fat-lad-on-a-bike Posts: 26
edited September 2013 in Road beginners
Hi there
I took up running about 18 months ago, and struggled last winter keeping fit dur to the dark nights.
Therefore started considering a sprint triathlon or duathlon.
Hence I am new to road biking, i have been using a friends bike for a month.
I have picked up a used road bike for myself its a Claud Bulter San Remo - about 8 years old but at present about what i need. Also was pretty cheap so can upgrade bits over time if this is something i enjoy.

Here comes the questions.- It currently has some 28c tyres on there which need changing. Do i go thinner or stay the same? RIding on roads mainly with cycle paths or country roads.
(i am about 102kg, not overly fat but an ex rugby player).

- Never had a bike serviced, but was debating as its a older bike and been standing for 12 months plus unused.
A LBS does three levels of service a top level completed strip down and put back together -£90, Middle - a strip down what needs doing and check brakes and gears etc £40. Or there check over and adjust gears and visual check £20

the bike seems in good order and was services about a year ago and not used. what would people recommend, im thinking the top one is a bit OTT for my old girl!!

well think thats is for now im sure ill have more!!

Comments

• Hi there
    I took up running about 18 months ago, and struggled last winter keeping fit dur to the dark nights.
    Therefore started considering a sprint triathlon or duathlon.
    Hence I am new to road biking, i have been using a friends bike for a month.
    I have picked up a used road bike for myself its a Claud Bulter San Remo - about 8 years old but at present about what i need. Also was pretty cheap so can upgrade bits over time if this is something i enjoy.