DIY TT?

rodgers73
rodgers73 Posts: 2,626
edited September 2013 in Amateur race
I've been riding for 3 years now and while I'm not particularly competitive as a rider I do like the idea of a TT as I also run 10k races and like to beat my PB whenever I can.

Looking at the websites for the local clubs it looks like I've picked exactly the wrong time of year to want to give a TT a go as it seems they've now stopped running them by now.

So, can I make my own up? I'm guessing I need a reasonably accurate measurement of the distance - they're, 10, 25 and 50 miles long right? - and some way of marking the start and finish (or at least remembering where these are). Plus a timing device (Garmin?).

Do TTs usually follow a fairly flat course? I'm guessing they would so as to make comparisons between riders nationally possible? There are plenty of dual carriageways near me that I could link up into a reasonably flattish circuit of about 4 or 5 miles and just do that repeatedly to suit the distance I was wanting to run.

Am I way off here??

Comments

• JackPozzi
    JackPozzi Posts: 1,191
    Would be easier to find out your local TT courses and time yourself around one of those wouldn't it?
  • rodgers73
    I'm not sure they're shown on the club websites. Also, if I can mark out a course near my house I can get one in before work.
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    rodgers73 wrote:
    I'm not sure they're shown on the club websites. Also, if I can mark out a course near my house I can get one in before work.

Most of them will be on the CTT website. Alternatively, just ride five miles out one way, and then return.
  • rodgers73
    Imposter wrote:
    rodgers73 wrote:

Most of them will be on the CTT website. Alternatively, just ride five miles out one way, and then return.

Should I try and do a flattish(ish) route?
  • JackPozzi
    JackPozzi Posts: 1,191
    edited September 2013