heavy duty commuting bike

keyrulzman
keyrulzman Posts: 11
edited September 2013 in Commuting general
Hi, I'm new to the forum - be gentle :)

My workplace started to offer ride2work vouchers, and I'd need some advice. I would like to buy a hybrid bike, ideally something with panniers, saddlebags, proper lights - under £500, it still has to be paid from my salary and times are tight.
The scheme only offers Halfords and Evans vouchers though - I have a Halfords in town, Evans is a bit further, but both are OK.
I read bad things about the quality of Halfords builds, is that a hit and miss thing or consistently bad? I bought some stuff in Halfords but nothing really expensive and nothing built by them, so I have no first-hand experience.

Here's the catch - and the reason for my title. I'm fat, and I need a bike that won't break. I don't want some lightweight alloy frame to break or twist if I go across a bump or the kerb. We're talking 140+ kg here. On my previous used £40 MTB, I had one of the pedals broken, maybe not from my weight, but who knows. (Obviously, I hope that would reduce with my daily commuting, but for now, that's the fact.)

I did some commuting on my £40 second-hand mountain bike, so I know I can do my distance everyday. I also know that any kind of hybrid bike will be infinitely better than my current MTB. So I can do with a heavier bike if it's sturdy enough. I do plan to visit both shops in the coming week and ask in person, but I would like to have some non-partisan advice.

Thanks.

Comments

• With my thoughts, bear in mind I'm just someone starting out myself.

I think you might be best looking at a tourer. They are designed for lugging weight around. This would also have the panniers, lights etc covered. The downside of these types of bikes is they aren't usually designed for speed, but being 120kg myself, the way I see it is I stand to lose more weight losing it myself than buying a 10kg bike instead of a 18kg bike.