front disk brake / wheel question

bucklb
bucklb Posts: 296
edited September 2013 in The workshop
Hi. I'm new to disk brakes, so please forgive me if this is a daft post.

If I really haul on the front brake (for an emergency stop etc) then there can be a crack noise as the front wheel moves slightly in the fork. I assume this is the force of the brake tugging on the wheel in its mount. The wheel still runs well enough and the brakes still work, albeit not quite as well, until I can reseat the wheel.

The wheel is quick release & I've tried tightening the bolt as much as I can, but I'm aware that there can be times when I need to get the wheel off at the roadside so there are limits. The brakes are mechnanical, rather than hydraulic.

Is there something I should be looking into to reduce this issue (I've wondered about sticking a toothed washer or split washer to try and keep the wheel in place) or is this normal behaviour for disk brakes?

Ta
Bob

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    sounds like the headset need a little adjustment.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • bucklb
    Might have been sensible to mention in my original post that I'm not running suspension forks, just "bladed, hi-tensile steel" apparently.

Why would the headset make a difference please (pardon my ignorance)?

Ta
    Bob
    Play in the headset means it moves from fork lower forward (due to the trail and weight) to back due to the braking force resulting in a noise.

That or your QR isn't tight enough (regardless of how tight it is!) - Shimano are much better than open cam designs!
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • I had this, turned out to be a slightly loose caliper mount.