David Veilleux retires

hammerite
hammerite Posts: 3,408
edited September 2013 in Pro race
Only 25, decided he wants to study after doing all he wanted to do in pro cycling.

http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/david-veilleux-announces-his-retirement

Fair play to him, but I wonder how many of us are thinking that maybe his talent was therefore a bit wasted! :oops:

apologies if this is a duplicate thread, not seen it mentioned elsewhere.

Comments

• wow thats a massive surprise. Great mid season. Lots of wannabe's with half his talent :?:
  • I like cycling but there is no way on earth I ever wish I was a pro cyclist.

Sounds like he's about the only bloke in the pro peleton with any sense of perspective. Five years out who's to say he couldn't come back anyway.

Can't imagine the peleton is a particularly intellectually stimulating experience either.
  • trek_dan
    trek_dan Posts: 1,366
    What a waste. I'd cut my d*ck off with a rusty razor blade to be paid to ride my bike and out training all day instead of stuck in an office infront of a drawing board.
  • trek_dan wrote:
    What a waste. I'd cut my d*ck off with a rusty razor blade to be paid to ride my bike and out training all day instead of stuck in an office infront of a drawing board.

Really? Spending 5 hours a day 6 days a week on a bike, the other 19 hours a day spent completely knackered is 'fun'?
  • RichN95.
    RichN95. Posts: 27,158
    Overlord2 wrote:
    trek_dan wrote:

Really? Spending 5 hours a day 6 days a week on a bike, the other 19 hours a day spent completely knackered is 'fun'?
    I don't know about you, but it's the missing d*ck that would be the deal breaker for me.
    Twitter: @RichN95
  • trek_dan
    trek_dan Posts: 1,366
    Overlord2 wrote:
    trek_dan wrote: