Advice. Form and pedaling.

heavymental
heavymental Posts: 2,079
edited September 2013 in Road beginners
I'm not being snobby or anything but I do notice that lots of people I see out riding look ungainly out on the bike. I think maybe it's just because they are not aware of the fact that it is desirable to obtain a certain form when riding and beginners maybe think that the sport is just about perching yourself on the saddle and mashing the pedals to get around a route fast. A lot of people have got into cycling recently and I'm sure not all of them will have had any advice on actually riding their new bike.

Riding a bike well is about being balanced on the bike and pedaling smoothly. Not only for aesthetics but for efficiency. My advice for beginners is to read up on efficient pedaling and to think about it next time you are on the bike. Keep your upper body still and concentrate on smooth pedaling. I'm no expert so I won't try and tell you but I just think it's something that beginners should bear in mind and look into. You will then be able to glide along the roads without looking like just another new recruit to road biking.

Not that I enjoy the snobby (lots of it is tongue in cheek) nature of this website but these articles are a good start to get you thinking about what you should aim to be riding like...

http://www.velominati.com/look-pro/look ... -danseuse/

http://www.velominati.com/tradition/look-pro-souplesse/

Comments

• Some good points, but you're forgetting one thing - not everyone will be interested in how they "should aim to be riding like" or not "looking like just another new recruit to road biking" the same as some people won't be interested in the lastest innovation in carbon fibre weave or how much their wheels weigh. Cycling is an individual thing and people get out of it what they want.