Avid bb5 brakes

Toe knee
Toe knee Posts: 525
edited September 2013 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

Totally new to disc brakes, so be gentle on me, anyway I bought a kona dew fs 2009 not long ago, went out yesterday on it for a second ride, and when I pulled the rear brake, it wouldn't stop me, and just kept going, any ideas on a fix for this please, as I say I am new to this type of brakes.

Thanks very much

Tony.

Comments

• Barteos
    Barteos Posts: 657
    The best thing you can do is to sell them and to get BB7s instead. They have larger pads and much better adjustment. Seriously.
  • Nothing wrong with bb5s, had them on my bike for years. Go to the sram website for the technical documents. That will tell you all you need to know.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Have you sprayed WD 40 or something near the back wheel?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • poah
    poah Posts: 3,369
    Barteos wrote:
    The best thing you can do is to sell them and to get BB7s instead. They have larger pads and much better adjustment. Seriously.

not really any better TBH

did they used to stop you?
  • Hi,

No wd. 40 near them no, and yes they worked when I first got the bike ( not great ), could it be as simple as changing the pads ?

Thanks
    Tony.
  • Barteos
    Barteos Posts: 657
    POAH wrote:
    Barteos wrote:

not really any better TBH

did they used to stop you?

Yes, they are better. As I said before BB7s use larger pads (the same as Avid Juicy series) and having two adjustment knobs instead one makes all the difference when it comes to adjustment and pad wear compensation - click or two on each side instead of repositioning the entire caliper.

Properly adjusted BB7s with full length Ripcord or similar compressionless casing should offer powerful and controlled one finger braking. At least that's how they work on my bike.
  • Ouija
    Ouija Posts: 1,386