Chain rubbing

bad_moose
bad_moose Posts: 49
edited September 2013 in Road beginners
I've been riding on and off for a couple of years now but I really got back into it at the start of the year. Had my Felt Z100 stolen and bought a new Giant Defy 5 to replace it. Now the Giant is a really good bike and I'm loving riding it, but the chain has an annoying habit of rubbing on the front derailleur. I've sat down for hours and tried to adjust it, but whatever I do it rubs. If I adjust it so it doesn't rub in the bigger gears, it rubs as soon as I change down to the smaller ones, and if I then adjust it so that it doesn't rub on them, it rubs on the bigger ones again as soon as I change up. It's really frustrating because the rest of the bike is perfect, it's dead silent until this chain rubbing starts. :x

What's the issue? I'm fairly sure it's not that I'm crap at adjusting the cable because I'm perfectly able to do it on my run-around bike and the rest of my families bikes. Is it the actual angle of the derailleur on the frame? Do I just need to rotate it a bit so it's more in line with the chain? Any help appreciated, thanks! :)

Comments

• Do your shifters have a trim function?
    --
    Burls Ti Tourer for Tarmac, Saracen aluminium full suss for trails
  • Err I'm not too sure. How would I go about checking if they do?
  • chaymck
    chaymck Posts: 157
    Does it rub when you are cross chaining? I.e chain on large on the front and back? Or small-small?
  • A trim function is the front shifter has 2 positions ( 2 clicks) before it drops the chain on to the smaller ring, so you can choose where you want the chain depending what gear you in at the back wheel.
    If the bikes is new allow time for cable stretch as I’m having to adjust my every day.
    Also read this.http://techdocs.shimano.com/media/techdocs/content/cycle/SI/TIAGRA/FD-4500/SI_5K70A_En_v1_m56577569830606969.pdf
    Specialized-The clitoris of bikes.