Wrist pain while riding on hoods

iand-83
iand-83 Posts: 132
edited September 2013 in Road beginners
I am fairly new to the world of road cycling and in the last 2 weeks have so far managed to cover about 150 miles on my new road bike, but the same problem reoccurs everytime I ride I start getting pains and numbness in my wrists and hands when I try to ride on the hoods. I have spent ages getting my seat well positioned and to make sure I am leaning forwards not trying to ride sitting too upright but whatever I try to do the same problem reoccurs in my 5 mile commute to work after about 2 miles the pains will begin so I have to resort to riding on the drops or holding the bars in a conventional bike manner.

The bike is a defy 2 in a medium size as I am 5ft 9in. Will getting a picture of me on the bike be the best way to be advised? I have tried roatating the bars so there level or pointing up ever so slightly but this makes no difference. It's starting to put me off wanting to ride the bike.

Comments

• MichaelW
    MichaelW Posts: 2,164
    Are you riding with relaxed shoulders and flexed elbows.
    I prefer my hood position to slope down a little towards me; if it is flat I slide forward.
    Where are your brake levers pointing? They can be straight ahead, canted out or inwards a little. Most bikes are setup with the levers dead-ahead but a little inwards cant provides a more neutral wrist position.

You may want to limit the duration of your rides until you have sorted out the position and you have some conditioning.
  • iand-83
    I am trying to be fairly relaxed and my elbows are definately relaxed but my shoulders always seem a bit tense.

As you look down at the bars sitting on the bike(will double check this) the brake levers point outwards slightly, will get some pictures of it to show better.
  • You may be putting too much weight on your hands, but then moving to drops should make it worse. This all depends on wrist angle though.