First Road Race

Anonymous
Anonymous Posts: 79,667
edited September 2013 in Amateur race
Hi guys how are you doing tonight?

I am looking for some advice. I have entered my first road race, it is a novice level rave 20 miles so not massively long and the average speed last year was 18mph. I can manage this speed and just now I am averaging about 350-400Kms a week.

What I need advice for it what type of preparation should I be doing. What should I be eating in the build up on the day.

I know it might not seem alot but I had a bad crash at the start of the year and its taken me a while to be back to fitness and have confidence. I have plenty of experience riding in a group through club runs etc.

Comments

• turnerjohn
    turnerjohn Posts: 1,069
    race ? my first cat 4 road race was 55miles at an average of 25mph !
  • Anonymous
    turnerjohn wrote:

Helpful thanks. As I said it has taken me a while to get my fitness back after a bad crash. Next year I will get a BC ticket and race 4th cat and then maybe I will be good enough for your advice?
  • turnerjohn wrote:
    Thanks for confirming that you have nothing to contribute to this thread.
    Is the gorilla tired yet?
  • If the event is happening soon, then I wouldn't do any additional training beyond what you currently do. Increasing training intensity and duration requires a fairly long time to produce physical improvements.

Don't ride too hard on the day before the event - make sure you are fully rested and recovered from earlier training. Just eat as you would for a hard 30 mile training ride, and have adequate water with you during the event.

Tactics - strong riders may go hard from the start to force weaker riders to drop back from the lead group. Attempt to stay in the lead group! Don't rely on being able to catch them later. Be especially careful at a 'mass start' - it is very easy to get caught-up in an accident.

Jay Kosta
    Endwell NY USA
  • Pross
    Pross Posts: 40,490