Advice needed: Gearing and Isle Of Wight hills

DuckSeason356
DuckSeason356 Posts: 6
edited September 2013 in Road beginners
I think my bike is not geared for hills and I would like advice on how I might change it.

I am quite new to road biking and was given a Cannondale Caad 5 which I am taking on a trip to the Isle Of Wight to do the 75mile circuit.

I have checked the gearing and I have a standard front chainring with 2 cogs and 53 and 39 teeth on each. The rear casstte is 12-25.

Following some online guidance and some over the phone advice from a bike shop it sounds like the bike is highly geared and I have noticed it being a bit of a struggle up some small local hills so have a concern about IOW which is a bit more hilly.

Ideally I want to lower the gearing of the bike to make hills easier but without sacrificing too much power on the flat.

I would like to minmise the cost of any changes.

I would be very grateful for any helpful hints on what bits I could change and how much difference it could make.

Comments

• t4tomo
    t4tomo Posts: 2,643
    Yes you have a standard double on the front 53/39, the other option is a compact double which is. 50/34 so yes you have the higher geared option. The front chainrings are expensive to change but don't worry as the easiest way to get lower gears is to change the cassette for a 12-28 which will make your bottom gear 3/25th lower ( approx 12%) and very similar to the usual lowest gear on a compact of 34--25.

Have a look on wiggle or chain reaction etc for the right speed (9/ 10 whatever you currently have) 12-28 cassette, making sure it's shimano compatible if you currently have shimano (or campag)
    Bianchi Infinito CV
    Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Ultegra
    Brompton S Type
    Carrera Vengeance Ultimate Ltd
    Gary Fisher Aquila '98
    Front half of a Viking Saratoga Tandem