ROAD BIKE PROJECT: BSA Frame - Is it worth it?

Palmer291
Palmer291 Posts: 17
edited August 2013 in Workshop
Afternoon ladies and gents,

I've come into possession of an old BSA Road Bike frame, that used to be my dads, and have had a thought of perhaps working on it to get it up to riding standards again. I just want to know if you guys think it would be worth it?

I'm new to actually carrying out mechanical work on bikes so it could be an interesting project for me, and at least I'll learn a long the way. It might even work out to be a pretty decent winter training bike too if I can get it to a decent condition. If it is worth the work, then if anyone can recommend places to purchase parts from, I could perhaps turn this thread into an ongoing 'show how' project, which could prove useful if anyone else is thinking of doing the same? (I've not had a proper look on the forum yet if there's something like this already, so apologies).

I've attached images below of how it looks right now. As you can see there's a lot that needs to be done to it, but just thought I'd find out from people who may have done this before, before I run in head first without much of an idea.

Cheers!

(PS, excuse the state our garden is in. We're moving soon and it's entered a bit of neglect)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rxpvn078fgo8l ... 7%2045.jpg

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ax3uxs4sl3844 ... 7%2059.jpg

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0870atkas218x ... 8%2005.jpg

https://www.dropbox.com/s/yhroucsrktwgz ... 8%2014.jpg

Comments

• rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    Not anything of any value beyond transport but it looks in potentially nice condition - you shouldn't necessarily need much in the way of parts. Strip, thorough clean and regrease mainly. A great way to learn about bike maintenance. New chain, brake blocks and tyres - wheels from Ebay if the originals are dead but it looks better than a bike that I renovated that needed no parts at all.
    Faster than a tent.......