Newbie needs advice on Rockrider 8.1 2012

anga
anga Posts: 25
edited August 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hello:

I am new to MTBs and narrowed on Rockrider 8.1
Went thru the threads and they are mostly positive.

The only concern I have is the frame geometry--described as "old-school racing geometry"?

What does this mean? What difference does it make to the posture? comfort?

Thanks

Comments

• 97th choice
    97th choice Posts: 2,222
    It's not something you want to point down the steep stuff.
    Too-ra-loo-ra, too-ra-loo-rye, aye

Giant Trance
    Radon ZR 27.5 Race
    Btwin Alur700
    Merida CX500
  • anga
    It is a XC bike and not a DH one--that much I know.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    My Carrera Kraken isn't that dissimilar geometry, it works fine riding downhills, but it's clearly not a Downhilll bike, it is XC biased, you can make it a little more trail friendly with shorter stem and maybe riser bars.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • anga
    Thanks Rookie.

I will be using it mostly on a mix of tarmac--sometimes unmaintained, gravelled roads, and paths.
    Not concerned with uphill or downhill or rock-jumping.

The frame geometry is described as "old-school racing geometry"

What does this mean? What difference does it make to the posture? comfort? riding long distances?

thanks
  • Davdandy
    Davdandy Posts: 571
    I bought a RR 8.1 a week and a half ago and love it.I only use it on trails and medium rough ground,nothing too challenging,but as i am older now those days are behind me.The forks are incredibly smooth and comfortable and rides like a dream.I did a lot of research on here but choosing and believe i have been served well.

If you do trails like me you will not be dissapointed with the RR,for the money it is bang on.
    Cannondale CAAD 8 105
    Rockrider 8.1
  • The Rookie