Advice needed quick!

Rigger/frigger
Rigger/frigger Posts: 44
edited October 2013 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

I am very new to mtb, that new I haven't got a bike yet! I recently went to whinlatter in the lakes and completed 2 red runs and I have been bitten by the mtb bug!

I know this topic has been done about a thousand times but I really am in a pickle about what are the best components for my budget. I hired a cube analog at whinlatter and as I have nothing to compare it too I thought that was the best bike ever. At the minute I am seriously considering the cube analog as that's about my price bracket. Everyone suggests looking at the voodoos and boardmans, I am just worried about the whole halfords thing (I bought my young sons bike from there and they couldn't even see the wheel was buckled, even though it wouldn't do a complete rotation by hand), am I just been naive there?

I am basically asking for recommendations for bikes around the 500-600 quid mark, also some advice on what models of forks, brakes and gear sets I should be looking for/avoiding.

I will mainly be weekend ridding of decent trails and easy trails with the family.

Any help will be greatly appreciated in the quest to source that first decent mtb!

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Start with the sticky at the top of Buying Advice.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Personally in that price bracket and new i would go the rockrider 8.1 from decathlon not seen a better specked bike for the price do a google for reviews there pretty good. I am biased though as it was what i went for after looking at my options.
  • cooldad
    Good choice.
    I don't do smileys.

Parktools
  • I have looked at the rockrider 8.1, is it £200 better than 5.3.
  • my advise would be buy a voodoo hoodoo
    http://www.bikeradar.com/mtb/gear/categ ... o-12-46194