First Commute Today

Lee540
Lee540 Posts: 22
edited August 2013 in Road beginners
Hi all,

Did my first cycle to work commute today on my brand new cycle scheme Merida. Work is 11 miles away and it took me around 35 minutes, I'm brand new to cycling and definately not bike fit! :lol: Well.. yet!

I fear the ride home might take a little longer?! How far to people on here cycle to work?

Need to get myself a trip computer so I can try and be more consistance with my pedalling and average speed.

Cheers

Lee

Comments

• slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    Hi Lee

Loads of us ride to work - you'll find a fair few more in the commuter section ... ;) Mine is 11 miles too, takes me ~35 mins too... but it's not flat ...
  • meursault
    meursault Posts: 1,433
    Just 4k each way here, but still love it.
    Superstition sets the whole world in flames; philosophy quenches them.

Voltaire
  • djm501
    djm501 Posts: 378
    edited August 2013
    11 Miles commute in 35 minutes is decent speed in city traffic :D

Mine is 5 miles ish which I do in about 20 minutes although my record is 18 min - depends on the traffic lights mostly.

I do extend that though - I have 'indirect' commutes that are 10 miles, 16 miles, 26 miles and 33 miles - depending on how I feel and how early I want to get up/leave work.
  • Schoie81
    Schoie81 Posts: 749
    My commute is 12miles in the car, but I rarely do that short a route on the bike. Don't really get much other time to ride so my commutes are my rides really, so my commutes (now) are generally 20-30miles - and not even remotely flat - usually 1,500-2,500ft of climb.

Enjoy riding to work - and tell your boss that people who cycle to work are reported to have a better attitude, be more alert and more productive!
    "I look pretty young, but I'm just back-dated"
  • Lee540
    Lee540 Posts: 22