how's my progress?(newbie transferring to road bike)

thecyclingnerd
thecyclingnerd Posts: 19
edited August 2013 in Road beginners
Hey guys, thecyclingnerd here. I recently broke 30km/h average on my Cannondale quick 4, and will be soon acquiring a CAAD 10 105 with my well earned money. I was just wondering, for a 16 year old, if this is any good. Also, I was wondering If I was going to find any improvement with my new road bike.

Thanks,

TheCyclingNerd

Comments

• lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820
    It's impossible to say without knowing how far the ride was and the type of terrain it was over. It sounds quite good, but then it might have all been downhill!
  • The new bike might help a little.
  • TakeTurns
    TakeTurns Posts: 1,075
    Hey buddy.
    I started riding around your age and got my first road bike 2 years later. I can imagine you must be ecstatic about it and will be out on every opportunity possible. However you've got to bear in mind that, if you really want to go faster, you need to get out and train hard. Don't let the marketing delude and seduce you into thinking you need the best equipment to be any good. Just have fun and enjoy yourself!
  • My training route is 35 kilometers long, and is extremely flat. I live on a hill, with a 15% downhill section(about 700 meters long). The problem with this hill is that you can't put all energy out on the flats, because you have to save a bit of energy for the climb. What I have done is just take the climbing portion of the route out of my times completely. I do go about 67 km/h down the hill, but that speed doesn't really seem to change my time(and it shouldn't due to it's shortness). I wanted a road bike to get into my local bike ride, and futuristicly a team. But I wanted to get my latest goal of 30 km/h first.
  • djm501
    djm501 Posts: 378
    Hills are where it's at dude - the quality of the ride is judged by its climb not just its distance. ;)