Self build or wimp out and use LBS

kjab
kjab Posts: 136
edited January 2014 in Workshop
Hi all,

Right, I'm a complete noob at building a bike, but for some reason find myself with some components for a build (CR1 SL, 6770 di2, kysrium elite's) and am now dithering as to whether to learn how to put it together myself or wimp out and get an LBS to do it. Should I;

a) do it myself, get a basic toolkit but still need a LBS for headset and bb press

b) get an LBS to do it (anyone recommend one around Cambridge?)

or alternatively (and maybe a bit cheekily) c) is there anyone around the Cambridge area who has a free half day one weekend who fancies a few beers and a BBQ on me whilst teaching me a bit of bike maintenance :D

Beyond a basic kit like http://www.planet-x-bikes.co.uk/i/q/TOJ ... __18_piece or http://www.probikekit.co.uk/bicycle-too ... 72672.html - is there anything else I need? torque wrench, headset/bb press etc? Which of the kits would you recommend?

Cheers

Neil

Comments

• thistle_
    thistle_ Posts: 7,217
    If you've got plenty of spare time then do it yourself. You'll learn how it all fits together and you'll be able to do more maintenance work yourself. There's videos on the internet showing you how to do pretty much everything, it might just take you longer to do it than someone who has done it before.

You can get cheap bearing presses off eBay. When I say cheap, it's 2 nylon/steel plates and a bit of threaded bar with nuts on the end....
    It does the job but you have to be careful that it goes in straight.

A workstand might be useful. The Lidl ones will be sufficient but I don't think they have them in at the moment.

Those toolkits look OK.
    If you've got square taper or Octolink cranks/bottom bracket, I'm not sure if either of them include a 10mm allen key for attaching cranks or a bottom bracket removal tool. The pictures suggest they do but I'm not sure what they are on the list of what you get.